Rancho San Diego CA 92019 Business Directory
Coupons & Specials

Follow Us on Twitter

Steele Canyon High School Production and Drama Students Nominated for 2018 Broadway San Diego Awards

SPRING VALLEY, CA –   Steele Canyon High School Drama Department and Instrumental Music Department’s annual spring production of Rodger’s & Hammerstein’s The Sound of Music has been nominated for Best Musical Ensemble for the 2018 Broadway San Diego Awards. Three students from the cast were also selected as nominees for Best Actor and Best Actress at the 2018 Broadway San Diego Awards.

Leanna Neely has received a nomination for Best Actress for her portrayal of the Mother Abbess. Jackson Shaffer has received a nomination for Best Actor for his portrayal of Captain Von Trapp. Mary Rose Vadeboncoeur is nominated as Best Actress for her role as Maria.

According to SCHS Theatre Director, Nicole LaBella, this is the first year the school has entered this competition that celebrates excellence in high school musical theatre. And, according to Rick Hernandez, Program Manager for Broadway San Diego High School Musical Theatre Awards, “We had 22 schools with 28 shows in the competition this year. This is the largest participation that we have ever had. The level of professionalism in these high school productions and the level of talent among these young performers in San Diego County is phenomenal The competition was fierce!”

Of those 28 shows, Steele Canyon High School’s production of The Sound of Music is one of the final top three nominees. The students in the cast will perform at the May 27th awards show at the Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego in a competitive Tony Awards® style adjudication process to determine which school will be chosen Best Musical Ensemble Production and win $1,000 for their school theatre department.

The ten finalists for Best Actor and ten finalist for Best Actress from thirty participating schools will compete. A panel of celebrity judges and industry professionals will select one Best Actor and one Best Actress to represent the 2018 Broadway San Diego Awards at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards® (NHSMTA) also know as the Jimmy Awards® in New York City in June 2018.

About Broadway San Diego Awards –  The Broadway San Diego Awards program is now entering its fifth year and the competition is sponsored by the San Diego County Credit Union. The Mission of Broadway San Diego Awards is to utilize a competitive Tony Awards® style adjudication process, to find the very best of high school musical theater talent in San Diego County; and in collaboration with the Jimmy Awards®, also known as the National High School Musical Theater Awards® (NHSMTA), to present these talented young performers with a unique scholarship opportunity to advance their educations and careers in the genre of musical theater.

About the Steele Canyon Players Drama Booster Club – The purpose of the Steele Canyon Players Drama Booster Club is to support, promote and sustain drama programs for the student community of Steele Canyon High School.


Mary Rose Vadeboncoeur

Leanna Neely

Jackson Shaffer

Get Involved... What Do You Think? LEAVE YOUR COMMENT HERE: